[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file /www/htdocs/w008b995/flame-guards/vwoer/handlers/shortcode_handler.php on line 23: Creating default object from empty value
Welcome
Username:
Password:



Remember me
[ ]
[ ]
[ ]
Online
30 guests, 0 members

Online record on 3 Oct - 00:19
    0 members,
    706 guests,
    706 total

Members: 6622
Newest member: thomasisma
Chatbox
You must be logged in to post comments on this site - please either log in or if you are not registered click here to signup


AcKeNaR on 28 Jul - 18:36
Hihowohaw! I´ve just seen the bookmark while i was making a sec copy and just logged in to say HELLO MATES, I STILL REMEMBER AND ALSO MISS YOU ALL A BIT.
CaptainQwark on 28 Feb - 21:09
well hi. playing on FA servers atm.
Pager0 on 27 Feb - 21:09
Happy birthday Hadmastah! :D
Pager0 on 21 Feb - 12:19
Heyo Stupid0oo :D
I-2-Stupid on 18 Feb - 22:21
hey pagerooo
Pager0 on 4 Feb - 19:37
Helloooo how is everyone holding up during the pandemic? Hope everyone is doing allright :)
RedNeckRookie on 11 May - 19:43
holy sh*t what a trip down the memory lane this is. used to play ET daily back in 2006-2008
-|FG|-IoNiDe on 9 Nov - 22:09
There is no spoon without a woman!
Hadmaster on 11 Oct - 09:50
Please post e new link for the FG discord. Thx
marcin on 16 Jun - 16:54
Wassup, FG#3 still down? Dammit.

Advertisement
{e_BASE}index.php
Forum

Installing Windows 7 but without losing any programs on XP

If you experience errors while playing or if you've got problems with other programs, ask for support here.

Installing Windows 7 but without losing any programs on XP

Postby RioAlex » Sat Oct 01, 2011 9:44 am

Hey can i install Windows 7 but with all programs i had on XP is that possible
Proud Member since

13.02.2012

Image

[align=center]Image[/align]

THANKS MACOM :D
User avatar
RioAlex
Member
Member
 
Posts: 1308
Joined: Thu Mar 03, 2011 5:23 pm
Location: Serbia-Belgrade-Ritopek
Xfire: rioalex

Re: Installing Windows 7 but without losing any programs on

Postby TheSaint070 » Sat Oct 01, 2011 10:24 am

make a doubleboot so xp and windows 7.
Only thing you need then is a free seprate harddisk.

Greetz
Saint
Image Best FG Admin
Image The Helper
Image The Best Avatar
User avatar
TheSaint070
Serverowner
Serverowner
 
Posts: 941
Joined: Sat Jun 26, 2010 12:26 pm
Location: holland

Re: Installing Windows 7 but without losing any programs on

Postby Cinnabar » Sat Oct 01, 2011 10:34 am

If i remember correctly,
windows 7 makes automatically folder, "windows.old",
where are old windows with files stored.

But i'm not 100% sure
-|FG|- Member since 12.October 2008

Image
User avatar
Cinnabar
Member
Member
 
Posts: 321
Joined: Sat Jun 26, 2010 9:23 am
Location: Finland
Xfire: cz4r88

Re: Installing Windows 7 but without losing any programs on

Postby RioAlex » Sat Oct 01, 2011 12:00 pm

Cinnabar wrote:If i remember correctly,
windows 7 makes automatically folder, "windows.old",
where are old windows with files stored.

But i'm not 100% sure

So games and files are saved
Proud Member since

13.02.2012

Image

[align=center]Image[/align]

THANKS MACOM :D
User avatar
RioAlex
Member
Member
 
Posts: 1308
Joined: Thu Mar 03, 2011 5:23 pm
Location: Serbia-Belgrade-Ritopek
Xfire: rioalex

Re: Installing Windows 7 but without losing any programs on

Postby Cinnabar » Sat Oct 01, 2011 12:34 pm

As far as i remember right,
as i said i'm not 100% sure.
I installed win7 when it was released, and dont have that computer anymore.
You should wait for someone's reply who have installed win7 closer,
or try find about it on google.
Or just do like Saint said.
-|FG|- Member since 12.October 2008

Image
User avatar
Cinnabar
Member
Member
 
Posts: 321
Joined: Sat Jun 26, 2010 9:23 am
Location: Finland
Xfire: cz4r88

Re: Installing Windows 7 but without losing any programs on

Postby RioAlex » Sat Oct 01, 2011 1:17 pm

I know procedure that Saint said but im lazy to do that if there is no other options il do that i have lots of seperate harddisk
Proud Member since

13.02.2012

Image

[align=center]Image[/align]

THANKS MACOM :D
User avatar
RioAlex
Member
Member
 
Posts: 1308
Joined: Thu Mar 03, 2011 5:23 pm
Location: Serbia-Belgrade-Ritopek
Xfire: rioalex

Re: Installing Windows 7 but without losing any programs on

Postby Qualo » Sat Oct 01, 2011 2:06 pm

cinna is right. Sometime at the beginning of the installation w7 asks you whether to delete all files or to keep it in a windows.old folder.
Still I'd recommend to at least save all important files on an external harddrive. Just in case something goes wrong...always keep a backup :D
Image
User avatar
Qualo
Member
Member
 
Posts: 292
Joined: Tue Jun 29, 2010 3:29 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Installing Windows 7 but without losing any programs on

Postby RioAlex » Sat Oct 01, 2011 2:28 pm

Ok Thanks...

So do it but create a backup
Proud Member since

13.02.2012

Image

[align=center]Image[/align]

THANKS MACOM :D
User avatar
RioAlex
Member
Member
 
Posts: 1308
Joined: Thu Mar 03, 2011 5:23 pm
Location: Serbia-Belgrade-Ritopek
Xfire: rioalex

Re: Installing Windows 7 but without losing any programs on

Postby Confector » Sun Oct 02, 2011 9:24 pm

The most safe way is just to store your files and personal stuff on an external data drive, e/g external harddisk and just use them afterwards.
Tho has stated above about windows.old, that should do the job, but most likely your normally installed programs e/g firefox wont just start - if I recall correctly.
Member since 13.06.2011

Image Best FG Member
Image The Best Avatar
Image Funniest Person
User avatar
Confector
Member
Member
 
Posts: 571
Joined: Sun Jun 27, 2010 10:28 am
Location: Estonia
Xfire: Garanthil

Re: Installing Windows 7 but without losing any programs on

Postby Qualo » Sun Oct 02, 2011 11:11 pm

of course programs (most) won't work,
but you can copy files :D like ET maps, savegames, ...
Image
User avatar
Qualo
Member
Member
 
Posts: 292
Joined: Tue Jun 29, 2010 3:29 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Installing Windows 7 but without losing any programs on

Postby RioAlex » Mon Oct 03, 2011 9:45 am

Qualo you mean programs for windows xp wont work on 7
Proud Member since

13.02.2012

Image

[align=center]Image[/align]

THANKS MACOM :D
User avatar
RioAlex
Member
Member
 
Posts: 1308
Joined: Thu Mar 03, 2011 5:23 pm
Location: Serbia-Belgrade-Ritopek
Xfire: rioalex

Re: Installing Windows 7 but without losing any programs on

Postby GhostRider » Mon Oct 03, 2011 3:46 pm

make 2nd participient out of 1 hdd and put ur stuff there then install win 7 on 1st participient. Shouldnt delete 2nd participient :)
Fragger wrote:
GhostRider wrote:im youngest in my family :roll:

explains a lot.

someday i will come up with a suitable psycho analysis of you :)
User avatar
GhostRider
Member
Member
 
Posts: 966
Joined: Sat Jun 26, 2010 10:01 am

Re: Installing Windows 7 but without losing any programs on

Postby RioAlex » Mon Oct 03, 2011 8:09 pm

I dont understan that Paricipient thing what is that
Proud Member since

13.02.2012

Image

[align=center]Image[/align]

THANKS MACOM :D
User avatar
RioAlex
Member
Member
 
Posts: 1308
Joined: Thu Mar 03, 2011 5:23 pm
Location: Serbia-Belgrade-Ritopek
Xfire: rioalex

Re: Installing Windows 7 but without losing any programs on

Postby 3Dforce » Wed Oct 05, 2011 2:37 pm

RioAlex wrote:Hey can i install Windows 7 but with all programs i had on XP is that possible


Most program will no longer work, when you've installed seven.
Yet however 7 is capable of running XP virtualized, provided your hardware supports that.

This means you could run a entirely seperated windows xp install, inside your windows 7.
This way you can run older programs that will not run in windows 7.

http://www.microsoft.com/windows/virtual-pc/

http://www.microsoft.com/windows/virtua ... nload.aspx

! Be sure to make a backup of your files and programs you wish to keep before installing another operating system.
User avatar
3Dforce
Member
Member
 
Posts: 64
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2011 3:43 pm

Re: Installing Windows 7 but without losing any programs on

Postby I-2-Stupid » Wed Oct 05, 2011 5:24 pm

3Dforce wrote:
RioAlex wrote:Hey can i install Windows 7 but with all programs i had on XP is that possible


Most program will no longer work, when you've installed seven.
Yet however 7 is capable of running XP virtualized, provided your hardware supports that.

This means you could run a entirely seperated windows xp install, inside your windows 7.
This way you can run older programs that will not run in windows 7.

http://www.microsoft.com/windows/virtual-pc/

http://www.microsoft.com/windows/virtua ... nload.aspx

! Be sure to make a backup of your files and programs you wish to keep before installing another operating system.


Ehm Virtual-Pc only works with Windows 7 Ultimate u dont get any os running on windows 7 home etc... i try it and it dont work so far or is there any special u need 2 do on the "cheap" windows 7 versions?

cheers
Image
User avatar
I-2-Stupid
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 1739
Joined: Sat Jun 26, 2010 10:44 am
Location: Bremen/Castle Wolfenstein
Xfire: i2stupid

Next

Return to Helpdesk

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron


This site is powered by e107, which is released under the terms of the GNU GPL License.
Theme created by VWOer, based on Jayya by e107 and G-Recon by Theme Labs. © Flame Guards Community 2010